The road to Penmachno

22~18°C, wind bringing showers. Very heavy later.

image

This desolate land, endless seas of grass torn in places by rock and forest. I am drawn here time after time. Such melancholic open space. Endless.
Maybe one day I will camp the night in some hidden hollow so I may absorb its magic.

That little place in the photo turned out to be a cafe. Not like any ordinary cafe, more like visiting a family home. I sat with a cup of tea and chatted with the family plus visitors for nearly two hours. A conversation started by my asking for places to stay nearby. “It depends on what kind of place you are after”. I said “preferably camping,  something wild”. the guy told me of bothies  and showed their positions on the map.

That sea of grass I have talked about is very boggy though. Deep enough, often to get above your knees. I will have ot take care with that. Bothies means no need for the tent, but on the other hand, I may have to carry firewood.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

