Van Dyke

6C Cooling.
The Culture Show: did a charming programme about a painting found via the BBC’s yourpaintings website.

image

Okay, it looked quite horrible before via restoration, but as they cleaned it, the glowing skill and finesse did actually show through. The guy who owned it was reserved and stoic throughout, but the feeling was vivid. I was reminded of my own personal relationship with a picture held in the City Gallery in Birmingham. Henry Fantin-Latour’s portrait of his wife reading. I always in to visit that picture when in Birmingham. It’s a sentimental friendship I have with the painting. I go all wistful and a bit soft in the eyes when I get there. It’s a great shame that I can’t get a print of it to treasure at home.
I’ll have to break in and steal it.

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

