Which TV?

4°C, rain.

I want a new TV. the one I have drives me nuts- there is a high pitched whining noise (even when the sound is muted)from my CRT set. New TVs are currently cheap, between £300 & £.silly, but the problem is choice. There are too many to choose from.

Plasma screen: heavy, good colour gamut, less contrast ratio very fast re-fresh rate.
LCD: cheapest option, light, sharp but poor flicker. Thicker screen, but the sound is better in the bigger box.
LED: (backlight is an array of LEDs), fast re-fresh rate is expensive, but sharp, bright and better gamut than LCD. Screen can be very thin, but once it’s set up, you won’t see that.
TechRadar
I can only hope I succeed in getting one today.

I failed*.By the end of looking at all the choices, I was so fed up that I jumped in the car and came home, without a TV. The one I looked at was the Samsung UE40D5003. It seems to have the best picture quality but has poor image controls through the menus, and connectivity is limited. A number of shops stock this one, each prints different specifications and completely different original prices for comparison in January Sales. I no longer trust those shops*. So really, it’s the shops that have failed to instill trust in me.

This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

