Change gear

Southport Pier

Southport Pier (Photo credit: Steve’s Wildlife)

6°C, light winds light cloud

To change gear, you have to flick a lever, or twist a grip. If you have a fixed, however, you have to ride to the nearest bike shop and buy the new gear that you want. I want a 17 tooth for mine, the 16t that came with it is certainly too tall. Even on almost flat ground, it feels as if I’m grinding the pedals too slowly. Today I rode through Southport, with almost still air on almost flat roads. Formby cycles didn’t have the right sprocket in stock.

Again, the ride was relatively short at only 33 miles, but my legs felt as if they’d had a real workout, probably because there is almost no coasting on a fixed. You can tell that I really like this bike, I don’t mind (for once) that it’s something ‘trendy’, that means there are lots in the shops. Good for me and good for the fashion victims.

This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Change gear

  1. Helen says:

    Hey, what’s all this talk about Southport? I used to have a load of good friends who lived there. Weirdly, the first time I went there the sea was up to the sea wall. Everyone was on the pier looking at the curiosity.

    Like

  2. essiep says:

    Up to the sea wall, that’s quite something. I’ve barely been able to see breakers almost on the horizon.
    I bet it’s horribly crowded there in the summer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

